What About The Children? is a group of people from a range of professional backgrounds who have come together to campaign on behalf of children too young to speak out for themselves. We all have a shared interest in the emotional wellbeing of babies and young children and the importance of emotional wellbeing for future mental and physical health

The Board of Trustees sets the strategic direction of the charity. The Trustees of the charity are also Directors of What About The Children? and undertake the work and activities of the organisation with support from supporters and others with the technical or professional skills needed for particular projects or aspects of our work.

Rebecca Abrams, journalist and author (Three Shoes, One Sock and No Hairbrush)
Sir Micheal Morpurgo OBE, author and former Children's Laureate

Dame Sarah Storey, Great Britain's most successful female Paralympian

Sir John Timpson, businessman and adoptive parent


Non-executive President

Professor Sir Denis Pereira Gray (former President of the Royal College of General Practitioners)


Sir Richard Bowlby Susannah Clasen (joint founder of What About The Children?)


Cath Armstrong
Dr Liz Bland
Sally Greenhill
Lydia Keyte
Jane Reddish
Dr Carole Ulanowsky
Dr Linda Woods


The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Chairman of the Scientific Board Professor Sir Denis Pereira Gray OBE Hon D Sc FRCP FRCGP F Med Sci

Mrs Diana Dean BA (York), Vice-Chair SAB

Professor Brenda Almond, Emeritus Professor of Moral and Social Philosophy, University of Hull, BA, MPhil (London) Dr h.c. (Utrecht)

Professor Jay Belsky BA (Vassar), MS PhD (Cornell), Professor of Psychology, Birkbeck College, London

Professor Sarah Stewart-Brown MA PhD FFPH FRCP FRCPCH, Professor of Public Health, University of Warwick

Dr Maria Robinson Cert. Ed. HV, Dip. Counselling, Dip. Child Protection


The members of the Scientific Advisory Board act as an external

advisory body only and are not themselves responsible for the running of the charity or its policies (with the exception of the Vice-Chair of the SAB).